Skip to main content

 NameTitleResearch InterestsEmail


Allen, RobertDistinguished Professor• digital humanities
• American cultural history
• family history
rallen@email.unc.edu
Alexander, Kelly Instructor• food studies
• ethnographic methods
• documentary studies
• feminisms
kelly.alexander@unc.edu
Gabby Berlinger Bio Pic
Berlinger, GabrielleAssistant Professor• material culture
• ritual
• Jewish folklore and ethnology
• ethnography
• public folklore
• museum anthropology
gberling@unc.edu
Dan Cobb
Cobb, DanielFull Professor• American Indian and Indigenous Studies
• American Indian history
• politics and activism
• ethnohistorical methods
• biography and memory
• global indigenous rights
dcobb@unc.edu
Marsha Miller
Photo credit: Marsha Miller

Engelhardt, ElizabethDistinguished Professor• Southern cultures
• food
• Appalachia
• feminism
• literature
• region and place
e.engelhardt@unc.edu
Ben Frey Bio Pic
Frey, Benjamin E.Assistant Professor• sociolinguistics
• language shift
• Cherokee language
benfrey@live.unc.edu

Herman, BernardDistinguished Professor• material and visual culture
• folklore and folk life
• cultures of the American South
• vernacular art
blherman@email.unc.edu

Hinson, GlennAssociate Professor• public folklore
• ethnography
• African American expressive culture
• American South
ghinson@unc.edu

Holland, Sharon Distinguished Professor• critical race theory
• feminist theory
• queer theory
• sexuality studies
• animal studies
pasharon@email.unc.edu

Kotch, Seth Associate Professor• digital humanities
• modern south
• oral history
• criminal and social justice
sethkotch@unc.edu
Marr, TimothyAssociate Professor• Nineteenth-Century American literary and cultural history
• Transnational American Studies
• religion in American culture
• Islam in/and America
• Herman Melville
marr@unc.edu

Richotte, Jr., Keith Assistant Professor• American Indian law and policy
• legal history
• constitutionalism
richotte@email.unc.edu
Michelle Robinson
Robinson, MichelleAssociate Professor• 19th and 20th century U.S. religious history
• 19th and 20th century American literature
• U.S. cinema
mmrobins@unc.edu
Rodriguez, AnnetteAssistant Professor• Anti-colonial Theory
• Feminisms
• Histories of land tenure
• 19th and 20th century U.S. popular culture
• Performance
• Ritual violence
• Visual Culture
• Borderlands
• (Im)migration
arodrig@email.unc.edu

Sawin, PatriciaAssociate Professor• narrative
• discourse
• festival
• culture of adoption
sawin@unc.edu
Photo credit: Amy Stern
Tone-Pah-Hote, JennyAssociate Professor• American Indian and Indigenous Studies
• American Indian history
• expressive and material culture
tonepahh@email.unc.edu

Willis, RachelFull Professor• global American Studies
• transportation planning
• labor economics
• service-learning, experiential and higher education
Rachel.Willis@unc.edu

 

Adjunct/Affiliated:

Daniel Anderson, English & Comparative Literature
William L. Andrews, English & Comparative Literature
Sarah Boyd, English & Comparative Literature
Fitzhugh Brundage, History
Maggie Cao, Art & Art History
Claude Clegg, African American & Diaspora Studies, and History
Tyree Daye, English & Comparative Literature
María DeGuzmán, English & Comparative Literature
Kathleen DuVal, History
Lawrence Grossberg, Communication Studies
Philip F. Gura, English & Comparative Literature
Amy Hertel, American Indian Center
Wes Hogan, Center for Documentary Studies-Duke
Malinda Maynor Lowery, History
Jocelyn Neal, Music and Folklore
Michael Palm, Communication Studies
Della Pollock, Communication Studies
Eliza Richards, English & Comparative Literature
Katherine Roberts, Center for the Study of the American South
Rachel F. Seidman, Center for the Study of the American South
William Sturkey, History
Jane Thrailkill, English & Comparative Literature
Tim Tyson, Center for Documentary Studies-Duke
Harry Watson, History
Anne Whisnant, History

Emeritus Professors

Marcie Ferris
William R. Ferris
Peter Filene
Jacquelyn Hall
John Kasson
Joy Kasson
Townsend Ludington
Daniel Patterson
Theda Perdue
Charles Zug