Faculty

Name
Research Interests
Email
Robert Allen digital humanities | American cultural history | family history rallen@email.unc.edu
Gabrielle A. Berlinger material culture | ritual | jewish folklore & ethnology | ethnography | public folklore | museum anthropology gberling@unc.edu
Daniel M. Cobb American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | politics and activism | ethnohistorical methods | biography and memory | global indigenous rights dcobb@unc.edu
Elizabeth Engelhardt Southern cultures | food | Appalachia | feminism | literature | region and place e.engelhardt@unc.edu
Marcie Cohen Ferris southern Jewish history | food studies | southern studies ferrism@email.unc.edu
Benjamin E. Frey sociolinguistics | language shift | Cherokee language benfrey@live.unc.edu
Bernard Herman material and visual culture | folklore and folklife | cultures of the American South | vernacular art blherman@email.unc.edu
Glenn Hinson public folklore | ethnography | African American expressive culture | American South ghinson@unc.edu
Sharon P. Holland critical race theory | feminist theory | queer theory | sexuality studies | animal studies pasharon@email.unc.edu
Seth Kotch digital humanities | modern south | oral history | criminal and social justice sethkotch@unc.edu
Timothy Marr Nineteenth-Century American literary and cultural history | Transnational American Studies | religion in American culture | Islam in/and America | Herman Melville marr@unc.edu
Keith Richotte, Jr. American Indian law and policy | legal history | constitutionalism richotte@email.unc.edu
Michelle Robinson 19th and 20th century U.S. religious history | 19th and 20th century American literature | U.S. cinema mmrobins@unc.edu
Patricia Sawin narrative | discourse | festival | culture of adoption sawin@unc.edu
Jenny Tone-Pah-Hote American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | expressive and material culture tonepahh@email.unc.edu
Rachel Willis global American Studies | transportation planning | labor economics | service-learning, experiential and higher education Rachel.Willis@unc.edu

 

Adjunct/Affiliated:

Daniel Anderson, English & Comparative Literature
William L. Andrews, English & Comparative Literature
Fitzhugh Brundage, History
Maggie Cao, Art & Art History
Claude Clegg, African American & Diaspora Studies, and History
Maria DeGuzman, English & Comparative Literature
Kathleen DuVal, History
William R. Ferris, History, the Center for the Study of the American South, and Folklore
Bryan Giemza, Southern Historical Collection
Lawrence Grossberg, Communication Studies
Philip F. Gura, English & Comparative Literature
Amy Hertel, American Indian Center
Jennifer Ho, English
Malinda Maynor Lowery, History
Jocelyn Neal, Music and Folklore
Michael Palm, Communication Studies
Della Pollock, Communication Studies
Eliza Richards, English & Comparative Literature
Katherine Roberts, Center for the Study of the American South
Robyn Schroeder, Humanities for the Public Good
Rachel F. Seidman, Center for the Study of the American South
William Sturkey, History
Jane Thrailkill, English & Comparative Literature
Tim Tyson, Center for Documentary Studies-Duke
Harry Watson, History
Anne Whisnant, History