Skip to main content

December 12, 2023

Congratulations to American Studies Department Chair Dr. Patricia Sawin, who received the Kenneth Goldstein Award for Lifetime Academic Leadership at the recent meeting of the American Folklore Society in Portland, Oregon. The society has offered this recognition every other year since 2003. The award is named for Kenneth Goldstein (1927-1995), chair and, for many years, the guiding force behind the Department of Folklore and Folklife at the University of Pennsylvania. It recognizes outstanding abilities and achievements by a living scholar in academic leadership relating to folklore. “Leadership” includes folklore program development, organizational and center development, teaching, and advising. Daniel W. Patterson, who led the Curriculum in Folklore from the 1970s through the 1990s, received this award in 2009. This makes UNC the only folklore program to have our leaders recognized more than once.

Patricia Sawin Awarded Kenneth Goldstein Prize for Lifetime Academic Leadership