Our faculty members–as a group and individually–work in a number of diverse areas, and their placement under these concentrations represent each faculty member’s major research area(s). Please look through individual faculty pages to get a better sense of the interdisciplinarity of our department’s interests.

American Studies

Name Research Interests Email
Elizabeth Engelhardt Southern cultures | food | Appalachia | feminism | literature | region and place e.engelhardt@unc.edu
Sharon P. Holland critical race theory | feminist theory | queer theory/sexuality studies | animal studies pasharon@email.unc.edu
Timothy Marr Nineteenth-Century American literary and cultural history | Transnational American Studies | religion in American culture | Islam in/and America | Herman Melville marr@unc.edu
Michelle Robinson 19th and 20th century U.S. religious history | 19th and 20th century American literature | U.S. cinema mmrobins@unc.edu

American Indian and Indigenous Studies

Name Research Interests Email
Daniel M. Cobb American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | politics and activism | ethnohistorical methods | biography and memory | global indigenous rights dcobb@unc.edu
Benjamin E. Frey sociolinguistics | language shift | Cherokee language benfrey@live.unc.edu
Keith Richotte Jr. American Indian law and policy | legal history | constitutionalism richotte@email.unc.edu
Jenny Tone-Pah-Hote American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | expressive and material culture tonepahh@email.unc.edu

Folklore

Name Research Interests Email
Gabrielle A. Berlinger material culture | ritual | jewish folklore & ethnology | ethnography | public folklore | museum anthropology gberling@unc.edu
Marcie Cohen Ferris southern Jewish history | food studies | southern studies| material culture ferrism@email.unc.edu
William R. Ferris blues | southern music | southern literature | folklore wferris@unc.edu
Bernard L. Herman material and visual culture | folklore and folklife | cultures of the American South | vernacular art blherman@email.unc.edu
Glenn Hinson public folklore | ethnography | African American expressive culture | American South ghinson@unc.edu
Jocelyn Neal commercial country music | American popular music | rhythm and meter | music theory jneal@email.unc.edu
Patricia Sawin narrative | discourse | festival | culture of adoption sawin@unc.edu

 

Global American Studies

Name Research Interests Email
Timothy Marr Nineteenth-Century American literary and cultural history | Transnational American Studies | religion in American culture | Islam in/and America | Herman Melville marr@unc.edu
Rachel Willis global American Studies | transportation planning | labor economics | service-learning, experiential and higher education Rachel.Willis@unc.edu

Digital Humanities

Name Research Interests Email
Robert Allen digital humanities | American cultural history | family history rallen@email.unc.edu
Seth Kotch digital humanities | modern south | oral history | criminal and social justice sethkotch@unc.edu

 

Southern Studies

Name Research Interests Email
Elizabeth Engelhardt Southern cultures | food | Appalachia | feminism | literature | region and place e.engelhardt@unc.edu
Marcie Cohen Ferris southern Jewish history | food studies | southern studies| material culture ferrism@email.unc.edu
Bernard L. Herman material and visual culture | folklore and folklife | cultures of the American South | vernacular art blherman@email.unc.edu
Glenn Hinson public folklore | ethnography | African American expressive culture | American South ghinson@unc.edu
Seth Kotch digital humanities | American south | oral history | criminal and social justice sethkotch@unc.edu