Faculty

Name
Research Interests
Email
Robert Allen digital humanities | American cultural history | family history rallen@email.unc.edu
Gabrielle A. Berlinger material culture | ritual | jewish folklore & ethnology | ethnography | public folklore | museum anthropology gberling@unc.edu
Daniel M. Cobb American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | politics and activism | ethnohistorical methods | biography and memory | global indigenous rights dcobb@unc.edu
Elizabeth Engelhardt Southern cultures | food | Appalachia | feminism | literature | region and place e.engelhardt@unc.edu
Marcie Cohen Ferris southern Jewish history | food studies | southern studies ferrism@email.unc.edu
Benjamin E. Frey sociolinguistics | language shift | Cherokee language benfrey@live.unc.edu
Bernard Herman material and visual culture | folklore and folklife | cultures of the American South | vernacular art blherman@email.unc.edu
Glenn Hinson public folklore | ethnography | African American expressive culture | American South ghinson@unc.edu
Sharon P. Holland critical race theory | feminist theory | queer theory | sexuality studies | animal studies pasharon@email.unc.edu
Seth Kotch digital humanities | modern south | oral history | criminal and social justice sethkotch@unc.edu
Timothy Marr Nineteenth-Century American literary and cultural history | Transnational American Studies | religion in American culture | Islam in/and America | Herman Melville marr@unc.edu
Keith Richotte, Jr. American Indian law and policy | legal history | constitutionalism richotte@email.unc.edu
Michelle Robinson 19th and 20th century U.S. religious history | 19th and 20th century American literature | U.S. cinema mmrobins@unc.edu
Patricia Sawin narrative | discourse | festival | culture of adoption sawin@unc.edu
Jenny Tone-Pah-Hote American Indian and Indigenous Studies | American Indian history | expressive and material culture tonepahh@email.unc.edu
Rachel Willis global American Studies | transportation planning | labor economics | service-learning, experiential and higher education Rachel.Willis@unc.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

Daniel Anderson, English & Comparative Literature
Fitzhugh Brundage, History
Kathleen DuVal, History
Lawrence Grossberg, Communication Studies
Philip F. Gura, English & Comparative Literature
Minrose Gwin, English
Jennifer Ho, English
Michael Lienesch, Political Science
Malinda Maynor Lowery, History
Jocelyn Neal, Music and Folklore
Eliza Richards, English
Ruth Salvaggio, English
Jane Thrailkill, English & Comparative Literature
Tim Tyson, Center for Documentary Studies-Duke
Anne Whisnant, History

Affiliated Faculty

William L. Andrews, English & Comparative Literature
Jan Bardsley, Asian Studies
Richard Cante, Communication Studies
Tyler Curtain, English & Comparative Literature
Maria DeGuzman, English & Comparative Literature
Connie C. Eble, English & Comparative Literature
William R. Ferris, History, the Center for the Study of the American South, and Folklore
Rebecka Rutledge Fisher, English & Comparative Literature
Gregg Flaxman, English & Comparative Literature
David Garcia, Music
Laura Halperin, English & Comparative Literature
Reginald Hildebrand, History and African-American Studies
Fred Hobson, English & Comparative Literature
Jordynn Jack, English & Comparative Literature
Scott Kirsch, Geography
Valerie Lambert, Anthropology
Rosa Perelmuter, Romance Languages
Della Pollock, Communication Studies
John Sweet, History
Harry Watson, History
Eric King Watts, Communication Studies
Gange Yue, Asian Studies

Emeritus Professors

Robert Cantwell
Peter Filene
Jacquelyn Hall
John Kasson
Joy Kasson
Townsend Ludington
Daniel Patterson
Theda Perdue
Charles Zug